Thu. Jan 20th, 2022

England put South Africa in after winning toss in Paarl

2 min read

South Africa will bat first once again as they look to level the T20 International (T20I) series against England in Paarl on Sunday.

The Proteas emerged on the losing side in the opening match of the tour on Friday at Newlands, where the visitors eased to a five-wicket win.


Having won the toss in the Mother City, visiting skipper Eoin Morgan repeated the feat at Boland Park and elected to field once more.

The changes made to the respective line-ups all came the way of the hosts.

South Africa changed two from the team that lost at Newlands, with Beuran Hendricks axed after going the distance on the night.

Fast bowler Anrich Nortje comes on in place of the left-armer, while the other change sees the return of Reeza Hendricks, who is pencilled in to open alongside skipper Quinton de Kock, with Temba Bavuma shifting to number three.

Middle-order batsman Pite van Biljon is the other man left out of South Africa’s XI ahead of the match.

Morgan, who has made no change to his team, said he was anticipating plenty of runs in the encounter.

“There may be a little more pace and bounce here, so potentially a higher scoring game,” he said.

Eoin Morgan, England captain

Play in the match between South Africa and England is expected to start at 14:30 (SAST). The game will be broadcast on Supersport Cricket (212) as well as SABC 3.


South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (capt, wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Temba Bavuma, 4 Faf du Plessis, 5 Rassie van der Dussen, 6 Heinrich Klaasen, 7 George Linde, 8 Lungi Ngidi, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

England: 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jos Buttler (wk), 3 Dawid Malan, 4 Jonny Bairstow, 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Eoin Morgan (capt), 7 Sam Curran, 8 Tom Curran, 9 Chris Jordan, 10 Jofra Archer, 11 Adil Rashid

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *